Energy Conservation Works Jackson Hole logo

Who We Are

Energy Conservation Works is a joint powers board made up of

ECW Board Overview

What We Do

We work in partnership with the Town of Jackson, Teton County, Lower Valley Energy, and a wide spectrum of organizations to implement and advocate for energy conservation and emissions reduction in Jackson Hole.

Jackson Hole Energy and Emissions The Big Picture

Energy Conservation Works and our partners use a variety of programs and sources of capital, including the $3.8M SPET for energy efficiency and distributed generation approved in 2010, to invest in initiatives to conserve energy and reduce emissions in Jackson Hole.

What Are We Doing About It?

We have programs to help you increase the comfort, efficiency, and value of your home, while reducing your energy and emissions footprint. Read more about our home programs below.

We offer 0% interest energy efficiency loans for your business.

Contact us to learn more

Energy Conservation Works facilitates projects funded from various sources of capital, such as the 2010 $3.8M SPET for energy efficiency and distributed generation, Teton County's Energy Mitigation fund, and Bonneville Power Administration. See some of what we've accomplished so far.

Snow King Ice

The Town of Jackson, Teton County, START, Yellowstone-Teton Clean Cities, Energy Conservation Works, Friends of Pathways, along with a myriad of organizations in the community have taken numerous actions to address our community's transportation emissions. Learn more below and see what you can do.

Our Board

In 2009, former World Bank President James Wolfensohn inspired our community leaders, including former Mayor Mark Barron, to transform Jackson Hole in to a leader in energy conservation and use our special history and landscape to share the message, encouraging people around the world to act.

Leaders from the Town of Jackson, Teton County, and Lower Valley Energy created Energy Conservation Works, a joint powers board with board members from each of the three entities, as well as citizen board members, with the goal of achieving significant energy conservation and emissions reductions. That mission remains today.

Elaine Walsh Carney, Chair - Citizen Board Member

            As Founding Principal of Pathfinder Philanthropy Advisors, Elaine has worked with regional and international organizations to develop and support an organizational Culture of Philanthropy since 1999. Through fundraising consulting, strategic planning, organizational capacity building, stakeholder engagement and leadership training she has helped over 40 organizations raise $700 million. She has a B.A. from St. Lawrence University in Environmental Anthropology and African Studies and has completed graduate-level courses at the Harvard Program on Negotiation. Elaine recently served eight years on the State of Wyoming Agriculture and Natural Resources Mediation Board and seven years on the board of Western Resource Advocates, based in Boulder, Colorado. She is an avid skier, hiker and tennis player who enjoys spending time in the mountains with family and friends.  

Mark Barron - Teton County Commissioner

            Mark is a local business owner and former 12-year Jackson mayor. Mark co-founded ECW in 2009 and served 5 years as board chair. Mark served 10 years on the Jackson Hole Chamber of Commerce board, two terms as chairman, 8 years on the Teton Literacy Program board, 2 terms as chairman, 3 years on the Jackson Hole Community Counseling board and 4 years on the Jackson Planning Commission. Mark was recognized as the 1999 Teton County Realtors and Wyoming Realtors Business Person of the Year, the 2007 and 2014 Jackson Hole Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year and 2014 Rotary Citizen and Rotarian of the Year. 

Jonathan Schechter - Jackson Town Councilor

             Jonathan joined the Energy Conservation Works board in 2019, shortly after being sworn in as a member of Jackson's Town Council.  A 30 year resident of Jackson, he is the Founder and Executive Director of the Charture Institute, a Jackson-based non-profit organization focusing on co-thriving, the state in which both human communities and the ecosystems in which they lie simultaneously thrive. Jonathan holds Bachelor of Arts in Human Biology from Stanford University and a Master's in Public and Private Management from Yale University.

Jim Webb - Lower Valley Energy, CEO

            Jim has been President/CEO of Lower Valley Energy since 1994. Before that, Jim worked for numerous energy companies and served as President of the Idaho Energy Authority. He has a B.S. in Accounting from the University of Utah. In addition to Energy Conservation Works, Jim serves on the Jackson Hole Chamber of Commerce Board and the Northwest Requirements Utilities Board.

Scott Anderson - Lower Valley Energy Board Member

             Scott has been a radio broadcaster for 30 years, managing KMTN, KSGT, KZJH, and KJAX as well as other stations around Wyoming. He has also served on the Jackson Town Council and with the Jackson Hole and United States Chamber of Commerce, where he chair's the Telecom committee.

Jim Speyer - Citizen Board Member

             Jim has spent the past 30 years working for the Environmental Protection Agency and serving as the head of several international companies’ Energy and Environment Practices. Jim started his career in Washington, DC, working in various positions in the government, including serving on President Carter’s White House Energy Staff. He has a B.S.E. in Industrial Engineering from the University of Michigan and an M.P.A. from Princeton University. Jim is an avid biker, skier, and hiker.

Laura Bonich - Citizen Board Member

            Laura is a leader in the delivery of sustainable solutions for civil infrastructure. As a LEED Accredited Professional, she has spent the last 20 years advocating for design code changes and engineering solutions for complex master-planned communities and revitalization of mixed-use districts. Laura is a full member of the Urban Land Institute, past branch president of the American Society of Civil Engineers, past Chair of the Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure's National Technical Committee for the ENVISION rating system, and a member of the Harvard Graduate School of Design Sustainable Infrastructure Advisory Board.

Daniel Butcher - Citizen Board Member

Dan recently retired from 30+ years in the HVAC industry most recently as a Senior Project Manager with LONG Building Technologies. Dan’s responsibilities included mechanical systems operations and energy management. Dan has served on the Energy Efficiency Advisory Board and also on the Town of Jackson Contractor Licensing Board


Katy Hollbacher - Citizen Board Member



Executive Director

Phil Cameron

Phil Cameron

As our Executive Director since 2014, Phil oversees all aspects of Energy Conservation Works. Prior to this, he was Executive Director of Yellowstone-Teton Clean Cities where in 2011, the Department of Energy recognized Phil as a ‘Rising Star’ in the National Clean Cities program for his work on a $500,000 transportation efficiency project across Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks. His past experience includes environmental education, monitoring, and resource management. Phil received his B.A. in Geology from Amherst College and completed the Teton Science Schools’ Environmental Education Residency program in 2007. Phil, his wife Robin, and two sons live in Jackson.